More Skepticism of Social Networking

March 13, 2011 at 4:56 PM Leave a comment

At Green Prophet, blogger Eliezer Yaari joins the skepticism of philanthropy by social network, complaining about the uselessness of clicking Facebook’s Like button.

It is time to say it loud and clear: I don’t like the “Like.” Did you hear me? I Do Not Like The Like. Don’t misunderstand me: I love when people love me, and I like it when people like what I write and get their thumb up when they read my opinions about the world. This is the fuel that runs the writing of any blogger. I really like it, but I don’t like the Like.

Okay, so Yaari doesn’t like the Like. But is he a mere curmudgeon, or does he have data to support his less-than-impressed attitude?

If you examine the Facebook Causes statistics carefully you learn that the average donations made through it is less then [sic] a dollar, while through online giving systems the level is almost $95.

We do wonder how many of those small Facebook donations might never have happened at all without the social networking site; it’s possible it helps reach an audience who might otherwise be deaf to fund-raising appeals. But Yaari is probably right that simply putting up a Facebook page won’t do enough for your charity.

Entry filed under: Innovation.

Mandela: Dissident, President, Philanthropist, Fashionista CSR to Remain Voluntary in India, Everywhere Else

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About GC

News about philanthropy and the charitable instinct

Categories


