It’s So Crazy, It Just Might Work!

January 2, 2011 at 11:20 AM

Two Yale professors, Jacob Hacker and Daniel Markovits, have taken to the pages of the LA Times to suggest a radical new form of tax protest:

The tax bill passed [in December] perpetuates the huge unfunded giveaways to the rich that have for a generation increasingly divided our nation. Rebuilding the American middle class requires tackling this growing divide head-on. If our politicians won’t or can’t, then ordinary Americans must and can.

Those who believe the tax deal gives too much to the top should devote at least some of their tax cuts to charitable causes that embody fairer policies and send a clear political message: We are in this together.

They’ve even set up a web site, GiveItBackForJobs.com, where you can get an estimate of your tax cut (that is, the amount of tax increase you narrowly avoided), then pledge that amount to a selected charity.

So let me see if I’ve got this straight: If my taxes are lower, I have more money to give to charity? The authors seem to imply that my money will do more good there, because their site does not suggest I send my “tax cut” to the US Treasury – which does accept contributions. By Jove, I think they might be on to something!

Entry filed under: General.

Happy New Year? Getting Customers on Board


About GC

News about philanthropy and the charitable instinct

Categories


